Login |  Register |  help
Maroons Sports

Auburn High School Lacrosse History

Auburn has a long and proud lacrosse tradition. Ray VanGiesen, an Auburn High Alumni and an inaugural member of the AHS Athletic Hall of Fame, is widely recognized as the "founding father" of Central New York Lacrosse at the high school level. VanGiesen was a collegiate lacrosse All-American at Hobart College in 1932 before going on to found the Fayetteville-Manlius program in 1933.

The Auburn School District 's Lacrosse program was found in 1972 by Mr. Thomas Butcher. Since that inaugural season, the Maroons have enjoyed 42 sectional tournament appearances, advanced to 7 semi-final appearances in 1976, 1995, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2008, 2010, advanced to Sectional Finals in 2001(A), 2008(A), 2010(B), 2015(A), 2016(B) and 2017(B) and captured Sectional and Regional Championships and a NYS Final Four Berth in 2001.

The Maroons have had 8 players earn US Lacrosse High School All-American (Eric Curry, Judd Lattimore, Ryan Blair, Connor Entenmann, Brendan Entenmann, Jack Burgmaster, Brian Cunningham and Alex Burgmaster) and 7 Academic All-American (Jim Bodicker, John Mauro, Matt Hoey, Aaron Sigona, Joe Marinell, Michael Schmid and Emmett Mack). There are also hundreds of alumni who have participated in the game at the Junior College, Division I, II, and III levels since the programs inception. These Alumni have gone on to earn numerous Collegiate Academic and Athletic All-American Honors, Players of the Year Honors and seven who have won JUCO and NCAA National Championships. There are currently 12 alumni coaching collegiate lacrosse and an additional 23 alumni who are playing at the college level.


This page was created in 0.1094 seconds on server 8